PPA News

Posted by: Matthew Helms on Apr 24, 2017

The PPAG Board of Directors is pleased to announce Miranda Nelson, PharmD, BCPPS has been selected as President-Elect by the membership. Kimberely Novak, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS has been re-elected as Secretary, and Tara Higgins, PharmD and Bob John, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS have been elected as At-Large members of the Board of Directors. They join Dave Hoff (President), Lisa Lubsch (Immediate Past-President), Jeffrey Low (Treasurer), and At Large Members Jeffrey Cies, Kristin Klein, Shannon Manzi, Kathy Pham on the Board of Directors 

Miranda Nelson, PharmD, BCPPS is the Pediatric Antimicrobial Stewardship Pharmacist and Pediatric Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Clinical Pharmacist at St. Louis Children’s Hospital. Dr. Nelson received her doctor of pharmacy degree from Auburn University in 2005 and subsequently completed a pharmacy practice residency at St. Louis Children’s Hospital in St. Louis, Missouri. Prior to her current position Dr. Nelson was a Clinical Associate Professor with the Department of Pharmacy Practice at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (SIUE) and a Pediatric Infectious Diseases Clinical Pharmacy Specialist.

​Dr. Nelson has been active in PPAG serving on the Board of Directors. She has also served in leadership roles such as Annual Meeting Co-Chair, Home-Study Chair, and Education Committee Chair.

"I am humbled and so honored to be chosen as President Elect of PPAG," Dr. Nelson states, "PPAG has provided me with countless opportunities as a pharmacy resident, new practitioner and finally as a clinical specialist. I have watched this great organization grow and develop over the last 10 years and I am excited for its future. PPAG has a vision for not only supporting pediatric practitioners through educational activities and patient safety initiatives, but also promoting recognition of the pediatric specialty through board certification. I look forward to working together with the members as we continue to explore the future opportunities of PPAG."

Kimberely Novak, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS has been re-elected as Secretary. Dr. Novak is the Advanced Patient Care Pharmacist in Pediatric and Adult Cystic Fibrosis at Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio. She is also the residency program director for the PGY2 pediatric pharmacy residency and Clinical Assistant Professor at The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy. Kim completed her Doctor of Pharmacy at West Virginia University in 2002 and then continued her training at University of Kentucky for her Pharmacy Practice Residency, Pediatric Specialty Residency, and Teaching Certificate.

Dr. Novakhas been active in PPAG since 2003 through committee involvement, publication in JPPT, and presentation of both posters and lectures at annual meetings. Her practice and research interests include cystic fibrosis, pharmacokinetics, antimicrobial optimization, and mentorship of pharmacy residents and students.

Tara Higgins, PharmD  is Co-Director of the PGY-2 Pediatric Pharmacy Residency and is a clinical specialist in pediatric hematology/oncology/BMT at UF Health Shands Children’s Hospital. In addition, Tara serves as clinical assistant professor at the University of Florida College of Pharmacy. She received her Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Rhode Island. Tara completed her PGY1 pharmacy practice residency at Massachusetts General Hospital and a PGY2 pediatric pharmacy residency at the University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center.

Dr. Higgins is an active member of PPAG, where she has served PPAG through numerous leadership positions. Tara was membership committee chair elect and chair (2013-2015) and chair of PPAG Fall Specialty Conference- Hematology/Oncology Planning Committee (2016). Currently, Tara serves PPAG as chair of hematology/oncology Special Interest Group (SIG) (2012-present), section lead for hematology/oncology section of PPAG board prep (2016- present), member of PPAG membership committee (2009-present) and member of PPAG BCPPS Recertification Committee (2016- present). Tara also helped start the PPAG student group at the University of Florida and continues to serve as the faculty advisor for PediaGators. 

Bob John, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCPPS is currently a NICU Clinical Pharmacy Specialist at The Children’s Hospital at Saint Francis and the Residency Program Director for his institution’s PGY1. He completed a PGY1 residency at Saint Francis Hospital and a PGY2 residency at The University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy. He spent his first two years after residency working as the Pediatric Pulmonology Specialist at Children’s Mercy Hospital and Clinics, after which he worked as a Clinical Assistant Professor of Pediatric Pharmacotherapy, Department of Pharmacy at The University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy. Dr. John has been involved with the development of a pharmacy-driven pharmacokinetic monitoring service, NICU dosing weight protocol, and served on the evidence-based medicine committee, in which he has helped develop clinical practice guidelines at his institutions.

Dr. John has been an active member of PPAG since 2007. In addition to being a member of the education committee, he has served as the chair of the webinar committee, and the education committee where he organized the educational content provided at the 2016 PPAG annual meeting. In 2015, he and his colleagues were recognized by PPAG with a Best Practice Award for their development of an outpatient on call service. He was awarded the Presidential Citation from PPAG in 2014 and 2016. He currently chairs the web-based competency committee, working to provide additional educational content in new ways to PPAG members. In addition to his work in PPAG, he served as Chair of the Pediatric PRN for ACCP.