PPA News

Posted by: Matthew Helms on Apr 24, 2017

Dr. Michael Rieder is recipient of the 2017 Sumner J. Yaffe Lifetime Achievement Award in Pediatric Pharmacology and Therapeutics. The award is given annually in recognition of significant and sustained contributions toward the improvement of children›s health through the expansion of the field of pediatric pharmacology and therapeutics.

Dr. Rieder was born in St. Boniface, Manitoba and grew up in a number of cities across North America while his father worked for Wyeth Pharmaceuticals. His family eventually settled in Lampman, a small town in Saskatchewan where his father owned and operated the local pharmacy. Dr. Rieder obtained his MD at the University of Saskatchewan in 1980 and his PhD at the University of Toronto in 1992. His pediatric resident training occurred at the Children’s Hospital of Michigan and his fellowship in Pediatric Clinical Pharmacology and Pediatric Emergency Medicine occurred at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto. Dr. Rieder joined the Department of Paediatrics at the University of Western Ontario and Children’s Hospital of Western Ontario in 1985.

Today, Dr. Rieder is a Professor with the Department of Paediatrics, Physiology and Pharmacology and Medicine at Western University and is currently the Interim Chair/Chief of the Department of Paediatrics. He is the Head of the Division of Paediatric Clinical Pharmacology and is a Scientist at the Robarts Research Institute. He is a member of the Drug Therapy Committee of the Canadian Paediatric Society and has served as a consultant to Health Canada, the National Institutes of Health, the Medical Research Council (UK) and the Canadian College of Academies. Dr. Rieder’s research focuses on drug safety and adverse drug reactions as well as on optimal therapeutics in children. This includes studying genetic variations and their impact on drug efficacy and safety and the mechanisms of drug hypersensitivity.

Dr. Rieder has been the recipient of many awards including the 1994 and 1996 Young Investigator of the Year for the Canadian and American Societies of Clinical Pharmacology, the Senior Investigator Award of the Canadian Society of Clinical Pharmacology and the Academic Leadership Award in Clinical Investigation from the Paediatric Chairs of Canada. Other distinguished awards include the Harvard Macy Scholar Award, the Douglas Bocking Award, several Teacher of the Year Awards, Fellowships from the Royal Colleges of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow and Edinburgh and a Distinguished University Professor award at Western. He holds the CIHR-GSK Chair in Paediatric Clinical Pharmacology, the only endowed Chair in Paediatric Clinical Pharmacology in Canada.

Additional information about Dr. Sumner Yaffe and this award can be found at https://www.ppag.org/index. cfm?pg=YaffeAwards.