PPA News

Posted by: Matthew Helms on Apr 24, 2017

Dr. Elizabeth Farrington is the recipient of the 12th Richard A. Helms Award of Excellence in Pediatric Pharmacy Practice. The Helms Award recognizes sustained and meritorious contributions to the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group (PPAG) and to pediatric pharmacy practice, and contributions of importance to education, new knowledge, and outreach.

Dr. Farrington is a Pediatric Pharmacist at the Betty H. Cameron Women’s and Children’s Hospital at the New Hanover Regional Medical Center in Wilmington, North Carolina and is a Clinical Associate Professor at the University of North Carolina (UNC) Eshelman School of Pharmacy and a Clinical Professor at Campbell University School of Pharmacy. She also serves as a preceptor for students from Wingate University during the experiential learning portion of their curriculum.

Prior to moving to Wilmington, Dr. Farrington spent 17 years as the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit as clinical specialist at the UNC Children’s Hospital. While at UNC Children’s Hospital, she directed a PGY2 Pediatric Pharmacotherapy Residency. Over the years, she has trained fifteen pediatric residents.

Dr. Farrington earned her BS in Pharmacy at the University of North Carolina (1983) and her PharmD from the University of Kentucky (1985). Dr. Farrington completed a two-year (1 year in pediatrics) Clinical Pharmacy Residency at the University of Kentucky, A. B. Chandler Medical Center (1988) and a Pediatric Research Fellowship under the direction of Dr. Rich Leff at the University of Iowa (1989).

She is an active PPAG member and has served on the Board of Directors and Education Committees. She coordinated PPAG’s Age-Based Competency Program. She is also an active of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) serving on the Board of Regents. Dr. Farrington is Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist, and is currently the Chair of the Pediatric Specialty Council for the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties. Dr. Farrington has over 172 invited presentations and written 15 book chapters. She is a Fellow in the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group, as well as, the Society for Critical Care Medicine.