PPA News

Posted by: Hanna Phan on May 3, 2020


For those able to join on at our 1st virtual conference, the 29th Annual Meeting, thank you for taking time from your busy schedules to participate in quality educational sessions lead by our amazing pediatric pharmacy expert members.

I wanted to take a moment to recognize our 2020 Fellows and Award Recipients – CONGRATULATIONS!!

2020 Fellow (FPPA)

  • Dr. Jeffery Low, Children’s Hospital at Dartmouth 
  • Dr. Brooke Gildon, Southwestern Oklahoma State University

2020 Presidential Citation Award --- “The KIDs List Team”

  • Dr. Rachel Meyers, Rutgers University
  • Dr. Jennifer Thackary, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Dr. Kelly Matson, University of Rhode Island
  • Dr. Christopher McPherson, St Louis Children’s Hospital
  • Dr. Lisa Lubsch, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
  • Dr. Robert Hellinga, University of New Mexico Hospital
  • Dr. David Hoff, Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota

2020 Spirit of PPA Award

  • Dr. Jennifer Hamner, Colorado Children’s
  • Dr. Norm Fenn, U of Texas-Tyler
  • Dr. Elizabeth Boucher, Concord Hospital

2020 Outstanding Original Research Paper

  • Dr. Bethany Chalk, Johns Hopkins Hospital

2020 Christensen Memorial Young Investigator Award

  • Dr. Amy Kiskaddon, Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital

2020 Best Practice Award

  • Dr. Julia Muzzy Williamson, North Dakota State University (presenter)
  • Dr. M Kari Casas, Sanford Children’s Broadway Clinic
  • Dr. May Kamleh, Health Economics and Outcomes Research
  • Dr. Mohamed Mohamed, Sanford Children’s Hospital

2020 Scholarship in Teaching Award

  • Dr. Lea Eiland, Auburn University (presenter)
  • Dr. Allison Chung, Auburn University
  • Dr. Julaine Fowlin, Auburn University

2020 Scientific Platforms

  • Dr. Jeremy Stultz, University of Tennessee
  • Hemisha Patel and Alysia Leung (PharmD candidates), Virginia Commonwealth University

2020 Student Investigator Award

  • Margaret Morales, Hampton University

2020 John Dice Scholarship

  • Erica Terry, University of Wisconsin
  • Sonya Barich, University of Colorado

Thank you to the following PPA Board of Director Members, who will be completing their terms in June 2020, for their dedication and service to PPA:

  • Immediate Past President - Dr. Miranda Nelson
  • Director-at-Large – Dr. Bob John
  • Director-at-Large – Dr. Tara Higgins

I also would like to express my gratitude to, our PPA staff, committees, speakers, moderators, poster and resident presenters -– for your patience, hard work, and passion for pediatric pharmacy. Your efforts are what made this virtual “first” for our association, and our association overall – AMAZING. We are a close and caring community and we should be proud to be part it.

And, THANK YOU from bottom my heart, all PPA members, for the opportunity to serve as your 2019-2020 President. It has truly been an honor and privilege to serve PPA and our profession. I am truly grateful for the friendships, relationships, and collaborations this community provides.

With deep gratitude,

Hanna Phan, PharmD, FCCP, FPPA
2019-2020 PPA President