PPA News

Posted by: Matthew Helms on Apr 29, 2021


We thank you, our members, for the highest record attendance ever at the Annual Meeting last week. PPA has continued to evolve and grow during this unprecedented year and that is due to all of you. You continued to provide clinical care and produce academic work, thereby supporting  the mission of PPA to promote the health and wellbeing of children through your efforts. As a testament to some of those achievements, the Pediatric Pharmacy Association is pleased to announce the following awards given during the 30th Annual PPA Meeting last week.

Richard A Helms Award of Excellence in Pediatric Pharmacy Practice

David Hoff, PharmD
System Clinical Pharmacy Manager, Children’s Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

Fellows of the Pediatric Pharmacy Association (FPPA)

Bob Hansen, PharmD, BCPS, BCPPS, FPPA.
Children’s Hospital at St. Francis, Tulsa, OK
Tara Higgins, PharmD, BCPPS, FPPA.
UF Health Shands Children's Hospital, Gainesville, FL
Amy Holmes, PharmD, BCPPS, FPPA.
Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center, Winston-Salem, NC
Amy Mitchell Van-Steele, PharmD, BCPPS, FPPA.
Albany Medical Center, Albany, NY

Best Practice Award

Seerat Kapoor, William Mabry, Dhyana Naik, and Kelly Bobo. 
Le Bonheur Children's Hospital, Memphis, TN.
Integration of the key potentially inappropriate drugs in pediatrics (KIDs list) with formulary management and clinical decision support in a freestanding children’s hospital

Outstanding Original Paper

Selina Lim
KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital, Singapore.
Comparison of vancomycin trough-based and 24-hour area under the curve over minimum inhibitory concentration (AUC/MIC)-based therapeutic drug monitoring in pediatric patients

Christensen Memorial New Investigator Award

Emma Wysocki, PharmD
Nationwide Children's Hospital, Columbus, OH.
When there is no trough: Continuous infusion vancomycin utilization at a free-standing children’s hospital

Student Investigator Award

Abigail Benfield, PharmD candidate
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, Chapel Hill, NC.
Management of suspected central-line associated bloodstream infections (CLABSI) in pediatric hematology/oncology and bone marrow transplant patients admitted to UNC Children's Hospital

John Dice Memorial Student Scholarship

Kennedy Freeman, PharmD candidate
University of South Carolina
Chelsea Vallejos, PharmD candidate
University of Colorado

PPA Presidential Citation

Norm Fenn, PharmD, Penn State Health, for his outstanding service as Chair of the Education Committee

Spirit of PPA Award

Lauren Henretty, for her outstanding contributions as PPA Manager of Education during the COVID-19 pandemic

Inaugural Jeffrey Low Service to PPA Award

Jeffrey Low, PharmD, BCPPS, FPPA
Pediatric Clinical Pharmacist Lead, Children’s Hospital Dartmouth, Lebanon, NH

Neonatal Pharmacy Small Grants

James Fly, PharmD
Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital/ University of Tennessee, Memphis, TN
Project: Comparing Outcomes Between Antibiotic Regimens for Necrotizing Enterocolitis

Seerat Kapoor, PharmD
Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital/ University of Tennessee, Memphis, TN
Project: Comparison of fungal infection rates among patients receiving histamime2 receptor antagonist or proton pump inhibitors in the NICU- A multicenter database analysis

Pediatric Pharmacy Small Grant

Emma Lynne Wysocki, PharmD
Nationwide Children’s Hospital, Columbus, OH
Project: Population pharmacokinetics of high dose extended interval amikacin in critically ill children

Congratulations to all of the award recipients! 

PPA Board of Directors
PPA Membership Committee
PPA Advocacy Committee
PPA Research Committee
PPA Education Committee