PPA News

Posted by: Bob Hanson on Mar 6, 2019

Michelle Condren, PharmD, AE-C, CDE, BCPPS, FPPAG has been named the 2019 recipient of the Richard A. Helms Award of Excellence in Pediatric Pharmacy Practice. Established in 2006, the Helms Award recognizes exemplary pediatric patient care, sustained and meritorious contributions to pediatric pharmacy practice, education, new knowledge, and PPAG.

Dr. Condren earned a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and a Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy and completed an ASHP-accredited Pediatric Specialty Residency at Texas Tech University Health Science Center School of Pharmacy in Amarillo, Texas. Dr. Condren is currently a Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Oklahoma School of Community Medicine in Tulsa, Oklahoma, where she also serves as the Director of Pediatric Research and the Director of Pharmacology. Previous to her current appointments she served as Chair of the Department of Clinical and Administrative Sciences at the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy in Tulsa. Finally, Dr. Condren started her pediatric pharmacy career on faculty at Texas Tech University School of Pharmacy.

Dr. Condren is an established leader in pediatric pharmacy ambulatory care. As a Certified Asthma Educator (AE-C) and Certified Diabetes Educator, she has established several outpatient practice areas in asthma, general pediatrics, cystic fibrosis, neurology, and diabetes. Through her collaborations with physicians she assisted in the establishment of the Tulsa Cystic Fibrosis Center as an accredited center with the CF Foundation. Her passion for this population is evident through her many years of dedication and leadership. 

During her tenure at the University of Oklahoma, Dr. Condren established pharmacy services in the general pediatric clinic, endocrine clinic, a pharmacist managed asthma clinic, cardiovascular clinic, foster care clinic, and infectious diseases clinic. She also developed many services to elevate the safety of pediatric patients within the clinic, such as ensuring that every prescription written in the clinic is reviewed by a pediatric pharmacist. In addition to her clinic work, Dr. Condren established a PGY2 residency in ambulatory care in 2009, in which she emphasized the training of residents in pediatric ambulatory care. Along with her colleagues she helped develop and teach a pediatric degree track for pharmacy students graduating from the University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy

In 2015 she was named a Fellow in the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group (FPPAG). She has won PPAG’s Young Investigator Award for her research evaluating a childhood cancer long-term survivor program. She has also earned PPAG Best Practice Awards for her work in ambulatory care numerous times with 2 individual and 2 team Best Practice Awards and from PPAG:

  1. 2002- Awarded to the TTUHSC School of Pharmacy Pediatric Pharmacy Practice Team
  2. 2003- Implementation of a Multidisciplinary Asthma Clinic
  3. 2005 - Quality Improvement Initiatives in a Cystic Fibrosis Clinic
  4. 2015 - Evaluation of a pharmacist on-call program in a general pediatric clinic

In addition to being recognized by pediatric pharmacy organizations, her work has been recognized by her college of medicine colleagues. This has resulted in the expansion of pharmacy services and funding of additional pharmacists by the college of medicine to expand outpatient pediatric pharmacy services.

One of Dr. Condren’s strongest assets is her desire and innate ability to mentor pediatric pharmacists. As evidenced by her many nominations for this award, her lasting impact of those she works with is invaluable. She truly has made a difference in so many student’s lives!

She has been an active member of PPAG since 1998 and has served on various committees including the PPAG Recertification Advisory Committee and Education Committee and chaired the Ambulatory Care Special Interest Group and the Pulmonary Special Interest Group.

The Helms Award Lecture will take place on April 12, 2019 during the 28th Annual PPAG Meeting in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma